"On Amendments to the Constitution of Georgia" on Amendments to the Constitutional Law of Georgia

Article 1. The following amendment shall be made to the Constitutional Law of Georgia "On Amendments to the Constitution of Georgia" (Georgian Legislative Herald (www.matsne.gov.ge), 19.10.2017, registration code: 010010000.01.001.016012): 1. Paragraph 9 of Article 2 shall be deleted.

2. The following Article 2 1 shall be added to the law:

"Article 2 1

- 1. The Parliament elected in the next elections to the Parliament of Georgia shall consist of 120 members of Parliament elected under the proportional system and 30 members elected under the majoritarian system.
- 2. As a result of elections conducted under the proportional system, the mandates of members of the Parliament of Georgia shall be distributed among those political parties that receive at least 1 percent of the actual votes of the voters participating in the elections, and among the electoral blocs of those political parties whose percentage of actual votes received is at least the product of 1 percent and the number of political parties included in the electoral bloc. To determine the number of mandates received by a political party or electoral bloc, the number of actual votes received by it shall be multiplied by 120 and divided by the sum of the numbers of actual votes received by all political parties and electoral blocs that have exceeded the relevant electoral threshold established by this paragraph. The integer part of the resulting number shall be the number of mandates received by political parties and electoral blocs is less than 120, the undistributed mandates shall be received sequentially by the political parties and electoral blocs with the largest balance.
- 3. The percentage share of mandates received by a political party or electoral bloc in total under the proportional and majoritarian systems in the total number of mandates shall not exceed the sum of the percentage share of the actual votes received by the same political party or electoral bloc under the proportional system in the total number of actual votes received by political parties and electoral blocs under the proportional system and one quarter of this share. If the percentage share of mandates received by a political party or electoral bloc in total under the proportional and majoritarian systems in the total number of mandates exceeds the sum of the percentage share of actual votes received by the same political party or electoral bloc in the total number of actual votes received by political parties and electoral blocs under the proportional system and one quarter of this share, the political party or electoral bloc will have the corresponding mandates deducted from the electoral list submitted in the proportional elections and they will be distributed sequentially to the electoral lists submitted by other political parties and electoral blocs with better results that have passed the relevant electoral threshold.

- 4. For the purposes of this Article, 30 single-mandate majoritarian electoral districts shall be established in accordance with the administrative boundaries in force at the time of the adoption of this Law:
- a) Mtatsminda and Krtsanisi districts of Tbilisi Municipality; Vake district; Saburtalo district; Isani district; Samgori district; Didube and Chugureti districts; Gldani district; Nadzaladevi district;
- b) Telavi, Akhmeta, Kvareli and Lagodekhi municipalities; Gurjaani, Sagarejo, Dedoplistskaro and Sighnaghi municipalities; Rustavi municipality and the administrative units of Norio, Martkopi, Akhalsopli, Sartichala, Vagabondi, Akhali Samgori, Lemshvenieri, Teleti, Kumisi and Krtsanisi of Gardabani municipality; Marneuli and Gardabani (except for the administrative units of Norio, Martkopi, Akhalsopli, Sartichala, Vagabondi, Akhali Samgori, Lemshvenieri, Teleti, Kumisi and Krtsanisi) municipalities; Bolnisi, Dmanisi, Tetri Tskara and Tsalka municipalities; Mtskheta, Dusheti, Tianeti and Kazbegi municipalities; Kaspi and Gori (except for the administrative units of Variani, Nikozi, Tirdznisi, Skri and Shindisi); Khashuri and Kareli municipalities and the administrative units of Variani, Nikozi, Tirdznisi, Skri and Shindisi of Gori municipality; Akhaltsikhe, Borjomi, Adigeni and Aspindza municipalities; Akhalkalaki and Ninotsminda municipalities; Kutaisi municipality; Sachkhere, Chiaturi and Kharagauli municipalities; Tkibuli, Terjola, Zestaponi and Bagdati municipalities; Samtredia, Tskaltubo, Vani and Khoni municipalities; Zugdidi municipality; Poti, Khobi and Senaki municipalities; Tsalenjikha, Chkhorotsku, Martvili and Abasha municipalities; Ozurgeti, Lanchkhuti and Chokhatauri municipalities; Batumi municipality; Kobuleti municipality and the Makhinjauri administrative unit of Khelvachauri municipality; Khelvachauri (except the Makhinjauri administrative unit), Keda, Shuakhevi and Khulo municipalities; Ambrolauri, Oni, Tsageri, Lentekhi and Mestia municipalities.
- 5. A political party registered in accordance with the procedure established by law, whose support has been confirmed in accordance with the procedure established by the organic law by the signatures of at least 5,000 voters, has the right to participate in the next parliamentary elections. All qualified political parties, all political parties that participated independently or as part of an electoral bloc in the last parliamentary or local self-government elections, if they or the relevant electoral bloc received at least 15,000 votes under the proportional system in at least one of the elections, as well as all political parties whose candidate nominated by or whose member received at least 15,000 votes in the first round of the 2018 elections of the President of Georgia, are exempt from the obligation to confirm the support of at least 5,000 voters in order to participate in the next parliamentary elections.
- 6. The political party referred to in paragraph 5 of this Article, an electoral bloc registered in accordance with the procedure established by law, or a voter initiative group shall have the right to nominate a candidate for membership of the Parliament of Georgia elected by the majoritarian system in the next elections to the Parliament of Georgia. The procedure and conditions for nominating a candidate shall be determined by the electoral legislation of Georgia.
- 7. The rules and conditions for participation in the elections to the Parliament of Georgia, as well as the rules for the distribution of mandates of members of Parliament, shall be determined by the election legislation of Georgia.
- 8. In the event of one or more extraordinary elections of the Parliament of Georgia being held before 2024, the relevant elections shall be held and the Parliament shall be formed in accordance with the procedure established by this Article. No extraordinary elections of the Parliament of Georgia shall be held in 2024. In the event of one or more extraordinary elections

of the Parliament of Georgia being held before 2024, the next regular elections following the last extraordinary elections shall be held on October 26, 2024, and the authority of the Parliament elected in the last extraordinary elections shall be terminated from the moment of the newly elected Parliament's recognition of the authority of two-thirds of the members of the Parliament."

Article 2. This law shall enter into force upon publication.

President of Georgia Salome Zurabishvili

Tbilisi,

June 29, 2020

N6500-rs